How Celebrities Reacted To the Solar Eclipse

When it’s a once-in-a-lifetime moment where mystery and celestial forces are at play, even the biggest celebrities are awe-struck.


 Lady Gaga

Brimming with excitement and not willing to miss the rare opportunity of seeing a total solar eclipse (the last one in the U.S. was in 1979 while the next one is in 2024), millions of Americans made their way out or sat at home to watch the phenomenon on 21 August. In fact, the spectacle, which was visible as a partial eclipse from all 50 states and a total eclipse from a 70-mile-wide sliver of 14 states, may have been the most observed and photographed in history, according to the Associated Press. Even the run up was palpitating, with digital download sales of Bonnie Tyler’s classic hit “Total Eclipse of the Heart” increasing by 503 percent in the week ending 20 August, according to Billboard. What’s more, on the actual day the song sat at No. 1 on the U.S. iTunes top-selling songs chart and Tyler performed it with DNCE on a cruise ship.

The biggest celebrities were also giddy about watching the historic moment when the moon blotted out the sun while it passed between the sun and Earth. Ariana Grande particularly got into the solar eclipse spirit by taking the opportunity to publicise the release of her aptly named fourth fragrance, “Moonlight.” And as the stars took part in the day’s celestial happening, they palpably took to social media to express their wonder.

Whether the A-listers wore the recommended disposable protective glasses with some added panache or found some unique alternative viewing methods, these Instagram posts show everyone is in awe of our enthralling cosmos ….

 

 

Ready for the future. #eclipse

A post shared by Zac Efron (@zacefron) on

 Zac Efron

 

 

Quick time-out! #SettingIntentions @maddieziegler

A post shared by Kate Hudson (@katehudson) on

Kate Hudson 

 

Kerry Washington 

 

 

How amazing was that?! #TotalEclipse #SolarEclipse2017 @cassblackbird

A post shared by Reese Witherspoon (@reesewitherspoon) on

Reece Witherspoon 

 

 

After we saw the #eclipse Frankie looked at me and said "Anywayyyyys."

A post shared by Olivia Munn (@oliviamunn) on

Olivia Munn 

 

 

Moments before... #pathoftotality #totaleclipse

A post shared by Gwyneth Paltrow (@gwynethpaltrow) on

Gwyneth Paltrow 

 

 

Guys! #eclipse2017

A post shared by Elizabeth Banks (@elizabethbanks) on

Elizabeth Banks 

 

 

Getting excited to see the #solareclipse !! Hopefully everyone has their #isocertifiedglasses

A post shared by Kate Upton (@kateupton) on

Kate Upton 

 

 

Ok #solareclipse we are ready (also making sure there are no mayors around...just saying) @rachelgoodwinmakeup @mararoszak

A post shared by Sarah Michelle (@sarahmgellar) on

Sarah Michelle Gellar 

 

 

Total eclipse vibes

A post shared by xoxo, Gaga (@ladygaga) on

Lady Gaga 

 

 

There goes the sun do do do do

A post shared by @amyschumer on

Amy Schumer 

 

 

Stylish eclipse gear and dead grass make a Monday.

A post shared by Sarah Hyland (@therealsarahhyland) on

Sarah Hyland 

 

 

BRING IT, ECLIPSE!

A post shared by Brooklyn Decker (@brooklyndecker) on

Brooklyn Decker 

 

 

#solareclipse2017 viewing/tanning party!

A post shared by Ryan Seacrest (@ryanseacrest) on

Ryan Seacrest 

 

 

Eclipse ended an hour ago

A post shared by Nicole Richie (@nicolerichie) on

Nicole Richie 

 

 

 

A post shared by Amanda Seyfried (@mingey) on

Amanda Seyfried 

Share Article

Write a comment